Happy National Poetry Month!

Happy National Poetry Month!

When I was in high school, I used to loathe studying or writing poetry. I always thought it was so hard to understand, and that it didn’t teach me anything. I was so wrong! After studying American Literature in college, I discovered so many amazing poets that changed the way I viewed poetry and language. I know many of you feel the same way I did about poetry, but I’m here to tell you that not all poetry is boring and hard to understand.

E.E. Cummings is one of my favorite poets, so I thought I would share a love poem of his, “i carry your heart with me”

I know many of you love to read Edgar Allen Poe’s “Annabel Lee” because it is creepy and dark. Read “i carry your heart with me” in a creepy voice out loud. Sounds sort of disturbing, right?

Learning to Write Poetry

While I was in  the English- Creative Writing Bachelor’s program, I had to learn a lot about Free Verse poetry, form, rhyme scheme, and how to create my own. When I first signed up for the class, I thought, “There is no way I am going to be good at this.” But, I quickly learned that everyone has creativity. You just have to find a way to express it. I thought I would share with you all a poem I wrote for an assignment after Hurricane Michael in 2018.

Do any of you have a favorite poem or poet? If not, I strongly suggest you check out poets.org to find one! I will see you all at our Zoom Call on Friday! Let me know if you have any questions or need help with anything. Remember, your assignment is due Monday, April 6th, and can be sent via Remind, text, or by submitting it to the Google Form.  (Click the words Google Form, and it will take you right to it!)

print

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *